Becoming a Beauty Rebel

Maybe it’s high time that women redefine for ourselves what is truly beautiful. One way to start changing the definition is to look at unconventional examples of beautiful women. Fine art and music are sometimes a better source than popular culture to seek a different visual image. About a year ago, I stopped purchasing fashion magazines. My major reason for this was that I do not feel good about myself when I look at the photoshopped images of model or celebrities who in the first place do not even come close to the measurements of an average healthy woman. Real women come in all shapes and sizes. Isn’t it time to celebrate our differences rather than feel low self-esteem, because of them?

 Renoir’s painting of a woman after the bath depicts a very voluptuous woman. During his lifetime, a woman who had curves was prized, because she has a much better chance of remaining healthy, and surviving the birth of her child. Those curves had a very practical purpose to insuring the survival of our species. Beauty had an important purpose at this time for men to be attracted towards women who could provide the healthiest offspring.

Good health isn’t as important these days in determining what is beautiful or attractive. There have been actually few men who I have spoken with over the years who were attracted to really thin women. Could it be that perhaps they are biologically wired to be physically attracted to women who have curves? I don’t believe that we have evolved that far beyond our biological urges that our definition of what every day people find attractive has changed that much since the stone age. Culture does define though what is beautiful at any given era in time.

There are not alot of depictions of female beauty in popular culture who I would cite as role models for a young girl. When I speak of an acceptable role model; I mean is the standard of beauty realistic? Most photo spreads in magazines are photoshopped to the point where the model or celebrity looks as perfect as they possibly can. There is nothing wrong with following fashion, but those images will be the subject of discussion between myself and any children that I have in the future. Now, I am going to show a series of photos of Adele, who I am a great fan of her music, and I think is a gorgeous woman in her own right. She does not fit the stereotypical female celebrity who is almost always tall and thin.

 

Adele was quoted in an interview with People (February 10th 2012 issue): “I’ve never wanted to look like models on the cover of magazines. I represent the majority of women and I’m very proud of that.” Here is a link for the 60 Minutes interview  where Adele discusses the same topic of body image. Cheers to that girl! Good on you for staying true to yourself.

Leave a Reply

