Coping during a Rough Day

Hello everyone,

I had received an inquiry about how I cope when I have a rough day. Ironically enough as I write my blog post today I am feeling great, and looking forward to a long walk out in the sunshine. Those of us who are being treated for depression, anxiety, or any mental illness like Post Traumatic Stress Disorder sometimes do not take the best care of ourselves. This can originate from feeling like we do not deserve to feel healthy, or deserve to receive good in our lives. This is part of a negative thinking pattern that is best worked through with the help of a counselor or a psychologist in therapy. I’m not a mental health professional, so below I can only talk about what worked for me in my own personal experiences.

Coping with Insomnia

  1. Even if you do not sleep well it is important to try to go to bed, and wake up around the same time every day.
  2. If you cannot fall asleep after 10-15 minutes; get up and do something non-stimulating like listening to soothing music, watching a boring tv show, or reading a book that isn’t too exciting.
  3. Make yourself a good breakfast when you get up like yogurt with berries and nuts, or an egg with cheese on a whole wheat English muffin.
  4. Limit your caffiene intake to before 2 pm only.
  5. If you must nap during the day then limit it to 1 hour or less as it can interfere with sleeping at night.
  6. Chamomille or Valerian tea are mild sedatives that can help you settle down at night.
  7. Have a bedtime routine that helps to calm you down like taking a warm bath, reading a book that isn’t too exciting, or meditating an hour before you go to sleep.

General Coping Strategies

  • Find a creative outlet that works for you to release any negative feelings. Writing, painting, drawing, woodworking, and doing crafts are good examples of this.
  • I find having a structured day helps to manage depression, because you feel useful and there is a purpose to your day.
  • Daily exercise helps to boost your mood, and calm one down so you can sleep at night. Walking and swimming are excellent forms of exercise that are usually inexpensive. It’s best to exercise 2 hours before bed or earlier in the day, so you are not too overstimulated to get to sleep.
  • The daily practice of meditation before bed, in the morning, or at both times of the day helps to deal with anxiety, and worry. Meditation can be as simple as sitting in a quiet space, shutting your eyes, and listening to music for 15 to 30 minutes. If you aren’t one to practise meditation then doing yoga or tai chi are good alternatives as they could be considered meditation in motion.

Well, I hope that someone has found these points useful and I wish everyone a great day.

Amanda

2 thoughts on “Coping during a Rough Day

  1. I’ve been managing my clinical depression for nearly 15 years now (wow, I just added up how long it’s been – that’s quite a while!) and I cannot stress the importance of regular exercise highly enough. If I don’t exercise pretty much every day (some sessions are harder than others) I quickly feel my mood start to drop. Eventually it becomes addictive – not a bad thing to be addicted to! Good luck with your health.

    1. Liv, thank you for wishing me luck with my health. Recently, I started swimming on a regular basis along with taking long walks. Both of these help to silence the mind chatter for a while. I have been told that exercise releases certain chemicals that combat against the depressive symptoms. It also helps to deal with insomnia so one can sleep better. I will be sure to take a look at your blog as well. Thank you for your comments and for reading what I have written.

Leave a Reply

