A Time for Everything

1There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity under the heavens:

    a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot,
    a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,
    a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,
    a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,
    a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,
    a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to speak,
    a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace.

Ecclesiastes 3: 1-8

Those who love me unconditionally know that patience is not one of my strengths. Now if we are lacking in something God will put lessons before us that will teach us that quality we need to develop. As I move along in my journey sometimes in my excitement I neglect to realize that my prayers will be answered when God thinks that I am ready. Some changes that I am making will have to wait before others fall into place. As I reflect on the events of my life so far I realize that there have been times of sorrow, joy, love, hate, peace and conflict. I was never promised an easy or a fair life. What I have been promised is unconditional love, and that if I surrender to God’s will he will work things out for my greatest good.

Now I would argue that trusting God is the hardest one of his commandments to follow, because we do so according to our free will. Sometimes our free will wants to go in another direction that is not good for us. Again it takes time to listen to your heart for that it where love speaks to us. A friend of mine gave me a plaque that reads:

“Listen to your heart; For it knows where it is going.”

I think that her gift was a thoughtful reminder to pay attention to my heart once again, and perhaps a wink from God that I need to listen to my heart. When you have been hurt deeply then you glimpse something so beautiful that the choice to remain closed off emotionally no longer makes any sense. For those of you who are choosing to follow the path of unconditional love regardless of what spiritual path you follow; you are among the brave, and are those who are working to bring light to the world.

Our world needs unconditional love and compassion more now than it ever has. Below you will find the music video for the Byrd’s version of Ecclesiastes 3: 1-8 in their song “Turn, Turn, Turn.” I hope that you enjoy their music.

The Byrds: Turn, Turn, Turn

Namaste,

Amanda

3 thoughts on “A Time for Everything

  1. Great post!
    I agree that one of the hardest things to do is to totally put our trust in God and, consequently, in His timing.
    “To everything – turn, turn, turn – there is a season – turn, turn, turn – and a time to every purpose under heaven.”

  2. Yes! Read this… and Read it everyday! Devoting our free will to surrendering and trust really is the only long-term option that can ever work, for individuals, and collectively. Each moment has a meaning, and we all need to slow down and taste the flavour of that meaning. In all my contrived busyness and perhaps yours, I dare you to ask, “What is the rush?”

    1. The meaning of all moments is to witness love in different forms. There is this amazing gift to be found when we do surrender and go moment by moment. The meaning is only ever in the present moment. We have no reason to rush because time doesn’t really exist.

Leave a Reply

