So Deep the Root

Image

So Deep the Root

So many branches of branches

Of this my willow tree

For some theirs is

like a mighty sycamore

Not I…

For I bend and sway

Against life’s wild tempests

Or shelter in my branches

Birds sharing their melodious song

So deep the root

So deep my root

Keeps the willow from bending so far

That she will break

Roots can entwine too much

That they strangle

Prune too much too quickly

Willow tree will die

From lack of nourishment

As my origin is from

So deep the root.

(c) 2012 Amanda Wilson

Leave a Reply

