Rest, Recharge, Renew

Those of you who follow my blog regularly may have noticed that it has been a little over a week since I last wrote a post. So the question crossing your minds may be where did I go? Last Monday it all began when I was speaking online with a good friend of mine who moved to the Orillia area a few years ago. Between my Dad’s illness, and something shifting in myself internally I needed the time and space to decompress. Her roommate does contract work in Northern Ontario, so I was able to catch a ride with him down to Orillia during his week off work.

When I travel long distances in a vehicle I typically either read, or listen to music. I discovered that Lori’s roommate, Sandy, has a lot in common with me, so we ended up talking the whole way down to Orillia. It’s funny how I have met so many people online through the blog who are spiritually seeking, or in the midst of their own healing process. Our conversation was mostly on the subject of how to be a spiritual being who is having a human experience. Gary Zukav’s Seat of the Soul is an excellent read if you interested in learning about karma, intuition, and soul mates.

When I lived in England I lived with a fascinating Bengal woman who had spent most of her life in the UK yet had ties to a very traditional culture. Her parents had an arranged marriage yet had grown to love each other over time. Their love was like an ocean that was very deep and wide. They came to visit once, and what struck me was how her father, a gentle and intellectual man, was deeply spiritual. His daughter, Shameem, my former roommate was also deeply spiritual as well. Nothing to her was ever a coincidence.

The Seat of the Soul was a book that Shameem loaned me to read from her personal library after a similar conversation that I had had with Sandy in the truck. During a trip to The Goodwill Store in Orillia I spotted a copy of The Seat of the Soul for myself as I feel the need to reread the book as my life experience since then has changed my perception of what I read. At the time that I write this blog post I am over half way through reading it again almost a decade later since my time spent teaching in England. Strangely enough when I was browsing the shelves of books at Value Village I managed to find a copy of The Seat of the Soul for Sandy who was interested in my copy, so it just goes to show you that the universe responds to what your heart desires to do or learn about.

The internal shift that is occurring within me is that transition from being a survivor to thriving in a life that I create for myself by being my authentic self. Life moves more smoothly when you are honest about whom you really are. My relationships with friends, family and my spouse have all improved by being comfortable in my own skin. If you do not love me for whom I am, and for what I can contribute to the world around me then please do not waste my time.

My week away from the blog and from my life in Northern Ontario allowed me to reflect on the person that I am now, and also to recharge my batteries to view many areas of my life with new eyes. I bought a beautiful floral sundress, and some makeup to celebrate my feminine beauty, so the beautiful woman on the inside can be seen in how I present myself to the world. I bought two books: The Seat of the Soul and Something More: Excavating Your Authentic Self by Sarah Ban Breathnach.

These two good friends took me out for a wonderful dinner at Mandarin, a Chinese buffet restaurant located in Barrie. A lot of time was spent swimming in the pool at the apartment complex where I was staying. My sketchbook was brought out for the first time in a long while, and I did some oil pastel drawings. My creativity is one of those aspects of whom I am that I need to remain tuned into if I wish to listen to my intuition, and creative outlets were my form of therapy during the years when I was not seeing a counsellor regularly.

One of my personal passions is to shop at flea markets, and second hand shops. I found a wonderful China plate with a bouquet of roses surrounded by gold trim on the edge that was purchased for a song at the Red Door Flea market in Washago. Michael, owner of the Red Door Market, has a little bit of everything from Bradford Exchange products to antiques. He is certainly worth a visit during the summer months if you are in the Orillia area. The Goodwill Shop and Value Village in Orillia were both places that I also did some shopping as well.

Well, I wrote this blog post with much joy as my spirit feels rested, recharged and renewed. May all of you have a great week!

Namaste,

Amanda Wilson

5 thoughts on “Rest, Recharge, Renew

  1. “If you do not love me for whom I am, and for what I can contribute to the world around me then please do not waste my time.”

    I agree very much so. It is very tough to continue this sense of worth, but it is the only way to truth. At least I know I’m not the only one that feels this way. Thanks.

    1. It can be a times time to continue that attitude viewing your own self worth as being important. I realized after making many mistakes that I am the only person who is responsible for my happiness. It means accepting myself and only allowing those who value me as a human being into my space. It’s very much a work in progress for me. Thank you for your feedback. 🙂

Leave a Reply

