The Dream by Pablo Neruda

Every so often we read poem that are both comforting and beautiful at the same time. It has been a long time since I posted the poem of another writer, so I thought that I would share this.

The Dream

Walking on the sands

I decided to leave you.

I was treading a dark clay
that trembled
and I, sinking and coming out,’
decided that you should come out
of me, that you were weighing me down
like a cutting stone,
and I worked out your loss
step by step:
to cut off your roots,
to release you alone into the wind.

Ah in that minute,
my dear, a dream
with its terrible wings
was covering you.

You felt yourself swallowed by the clay,
and you called to me and I did not come,
you were going, motionless,
without defending yourself
until you were smothered in the quicksand.

Afterwards
my decision encountered your dream,
and from the rupture
that was breaking our hearts
we came forth clean again, naked,
loving each other,
without dream, without sand,
complete and radiant,
sealed by fire.

by Pablo Neruda

Hope that you enjoy reading it as much as I did.

Amanda

One thought on “The Dream by Pablo Neruda

  1. Pingback: The World -Pablo Neruda « FIVEBLUEAPPLES

Leave a Reply

