Will Smith and Philosophy

Alchemy is the story of transforming the soul from a place of lead (focus on material) to gold (focus on spiritual). Will Smith makes reference to the novel The Alchemist, by Paulo Coehlo, which is an allegorical tale of one man’s quest from Andalusia, Spain to search for a treasure in Egypt. His journey begins with a dream that fuels his journey. This journey takes him from the search for material riches to a much greater treasure.

Many spiritual paths speak of transformation and growth. Everyone has the capacity to improve the quality of their own lives. Will Smith has had an varied movie career with work that ranges from The Fresh Prince of Belair to The Pursuit of Happyness. The Pursuit of Happyness is based on a true story of an African-American man who beats adversity to improve his life and that of his son. Will Smith interests me as a actor, because he has managed to maintain a strong work ethic in his craft and a willingness to work hard to making his time on earth count. He also greatly values his family, and making a difference to the world around him.

My personal quest is to turn the lead of my experience into something meaningful. Where my spiritual journey will take me I do not know. I only know that I have learned a great deal along the way. When I am an old woman who is close to the end of my life; I want that life to have meant something through my being on this planet. If one can show others love in a variety of ways then his or her life leaves such a wonderful legacy behind.

Namaste,

Amanda

2 thoughts on “Will Smith and Philosophy

Leave a Reply

