The Long Road

The Long Road

Hard times have captured us both

Sitting outside my window

Hearing the roaring of the wind

It froze us to the bone

You wrapped me in

your threadbare coat

Around my shivering body

We traded smiles on the fire escape

Until they called me back inside

To hear the yelling once again

Of their silence

Hoping

I can be your forever angel

Forgive me for I have sinned

I will sin once again

If it means that you will be near

Thoughts of those eyes piercing me

How did you know what I was?

How could you love me still?

Despite the long road

We are doomed to follow

Until we have a heart home

We will shield our secret

From their stares and jeers

Love can prevail

You taught me this

About the long road

(c) Amanda Wilson 2012

2 thoughts on “The Long Road

Leave a Reply

