Love Letter to the Higher Self

Some therapists and self-help writers suggest to perform affirmations in front of a mirror where you are looking at yourself. Looking into your own eyes is powerful, because your eyes are the windows to your own soul or your Higher Self. Your Higher Self is the part of you who experiences no fear, and loves unconditionally yourself and others. It takes time to get to know this part of yourself.

The process may take years if you believe the negative judgements against yourself. Perhaps those around you negatively reinforced the words said to you by your inner critic.  Affirmations can help to change this negative core beliefs around. Also if you surround yourself with those who speak, think and act positively it helps to shift your own energy.

The soul, like a reluctant lover, needs to be gently courted and romanced. This can be done by treating yourself well. Some ways to show yourself love are:

  • Buy yourself a bouquet of flowers or cut some from your garden.
  • Create an oasis that you can find sanctuary in.
  • Spend time doing something that you love passionately to do.
  • Cook a delicious and nutritious meal for yourself.
  • Wear clothes that you feel comfortable and attractive in.
  • Spend time with those who think, speak and act positively.
  • Learning about a spiritual path that nourishes your soul.

A challenge for you, my dear reader is to read this poem to your own Higher Self in front of a mirror. The poem has two levels of meaning. It is a deep inner love directed to your soul. The poem was written by Elizabeth Barrett Browning to her soul mate, John Browning. These two poets shared their lives together with a deep spiritual love for each other, and also left a lasting poetic legacy. The world needs to see more unconditional love like this.

How do I love thee?

Let me count the ways.

I love thee to the depth and breadth and height

My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight

For the end of Being and ideal Grace.

I love thee to the level of every day’s

Most quiet need, by sun and candle-light.

I love thee freely, as men strive for Right;

I love thee purely, as they turn from Praise.

I love thee with the passion put to use

In my old griefs, and with my childhood’s faith.

I love thee with a love

I seemed to lose With my lost saints, —

I love thee with the breadth,

Smiles, tears, of all my life! — and, if God choose,

I shall but love thee better after death.

– Elizabeth Barrett Browning

We have such wonderous spirits once we remember our origins. Love is the antidote to fear and pain. Are you up for the infinite possibilities that love can open up? May all of you have a wonderful week.

Namaste,

Amanda

 

Leave a Reply

