Absence of Fear

Music has a very powerful effect on our mood and can provoke memory. “Absence of Fear” by Jewel is a song that reminds me of that feeling of such deep vulnerability along with the desire to be loved. The video has clips from the television series “Lost.” Kate in the series “Lost” experienced some abuse and the video shows what it can do to a person. The place in our hearts where we find the absence of fear is the safest yet scariest place to be for you have to face the darkness within.

Amanda

2 thoughts on “Absence of Fear

  1. Ever since I was younger, I don’t know if I’ve ever experienced an absence of fear. It has driven me to become who I am. I wish the best to all who cannot overcome fear….. for I am one of them!

    Doug Alan

  2. Doug, I have heard it once said that courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the ability to face those fears and continue to move forward despite being afraid. I am still moving through an ongoing process where I am facing my fears. Jewel’s song talks of that space in the heart where you allow someone in despite being afraid of showing your vulnerabilities. It’s scary being your authentic self, because you then cannot hide from those who love you. Fear is a part of life, but so can courage be.

Leave a Reply

