Lovestrong

This morning I listened to quite a few songs off Christina Perri’s album “Lovestrong.” Among one of my favourites is her song “Arms.” I can relate to that feeling of not wanting someone to get too close, because of the fears that crop up. My experiences with PTSD have me thinking at times that it is much easier for a partner to let me go. It is not easy for a spouse, or a boyfriend/girlfriend to deal with how we can isolate ourselves, struggle with communicating our feelings, the intrusive symptoms that his or her loved one experiences, and the trust issues that come along with it. One can see at times why the divorce rates among veterans’ returning who are diagnosed with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder is so high. In the past few years I have been very grateful that I am slowly getting better and for those who think I am worth sticking around for.

Amanda

Leave a Reply

