Points of Impact

Points of Impact

dark cloud looms over me

unspoken secret constant fear within

to lose grip on hard won wellness

during life’s points of impact

a drafted soldier I am and will always be

fighting on bloodstained fields within

those relying on my strong heart need me during points of impact

when does rest for a veteran come?

battle can arrive as sneaking ambush

or the slow yet driving onslaught

walking wounded I am with shrapnel and bullet hole scars

captain, when does my tour of duty end?

negotiate an uneasy ceasefire with the universe

lay my tired heart with full military honours

in a peaceful resting place above the sea

so my spirit will no longer be troubled by points of impact

 

(c) Amanda Wilson 2013

Leave a Reply

