History of a Soul

History of a Soul

ray of light making trek down spiral staircase

another incarnation

how many steps my soul has taken

 

running hands through Egyptian sands

protected from sun by wig and linen;

my dark eyes witnessing

slaves piling block after block on pyramids

 

walking down a Roman road

to where the stones meet the stars

certain times of the year

we danced around bonfires

 

someone’s eyes I remember

as my last thought

before the katana fell on my neck

piece of my kimono sailing on the wind

 

clothed in a black habit

standing in a cathedral doorway

passing provisions on back of a horse drawn cart

orphans leaving cloistered life while I remain

 

myself and others digging our graves

yellow star on our chests

dark time of history

prepared for the bullet hitting its mark before I fell

 

a soul with a vague memory

that these are but a few

of many incarnations in history of a soul

 

(c) Amanda Wilson 2013

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

