Cleaned Weary

Weary

calling Cinderella my soul sister

have you seen my fairy godmother?

hauling loads of laundry

up and down stairways

sneezing at disturbed dust bunnies

chasing those who try to escape

with whir of vacuum or hoovering

to quote British cleaning phrase

ain’t no ecstacy after the dishes

tackling cluttered closest and shelves

scrubbing forgotten nooks and crannies

a tedious and methodical process

where did my energy go?

I cleaned myself weary.

 

(c) Amanda Wilson 2013

Leave a Reply

