The Nightmare

Laying down my tired body

a journey begins to flow

where I go to the place of hopes and fears.

~

Standing in a hospital’s hallway

hair on my arms begins to prickle

something is not right here; stomach churns.

~

Lying on a stretcher; you are there

your eyes are closed and messy dark hair

hooked up to a heart monitor, an erratic rhythm

~

I am looking in from the hall,

a disembodied witness wanting to scream,

as I hear the heart monitor sound the alert.

~

Nurses and doctors swarm you as little I can see,

I am pushed aside as they race,

they call “Clear!” and try with the paddles.

~

Your body rises up but still no response,

they try again…nothing

pulling a sheet over your face.

~

I collapse down on my knees,

as I can’t force a scream out,

tears won’t come as the shock is too great.

(c) Amanda Wilson 2013

2 thoughts on “The Nightmare

Leave a Reply

