United States Marine and a Cat

Yesterday, I spent part of the afternoon drinking tea with my Mom and the television show “Must Love Cats” was playing on Animal Planet. A story came on about a US Marine who experienced trauma while on deployment, and a stray orange tabby kept returning to visit her on the military base. This cat became a constant companion. Military regulation in the US does not permit soldiers to bring back stray animals with them as pets. The story does have a happy ending, but you are going to have to watch the video to find out how it ends. My own cats have been an important part of my recovery, because animals love us unconditionally and do not judge us for expressing our emotions. My black cat, Isis, would snuggle up to me during the really rough nights that I was struggling.

2 thoughts on “United States Marine and a Cat

Leave a Reply

