Dark Night of the Soul

This is a blog post that I wrote when I first started blogging about the dark night of the soul. The message still rings true about out finding the light at the end of a dark time. I hope someone finds hope in the message.

Drop in the Ocean

Those of us who follow a spiritual path from time to time face a difficult time, the dark night of the soul, that can manifest as depression among other things. It is a time largely of solitude, and seeking inwards. Meditation, prayer, and other spiritual practices may bring limited comfort. Suffering does purify the heart although the process can be very painful as old part of your ego drop away. Many of the things I believed were true about myself, those around me, what I believed, and what is truly important were not the truth. In the midst of this, God does watch and love us even though we may feel alienated during the painful growth. St. John of the Cross wrote this beautiful love song between himself and God. Its expression of the passionate love for God gave me comfort during this difficult time.

Namaste,

Amanda

View original post

2 thoughts on “Dark Night of the Soul

  1. sorayabakhbakhi

    Amanda, I don’t know how to ping back to you from my post entitled ‘You Are My Sunshine’. I’m not sure how that works…

Leave a Reply

