Watch “Dixie Chicks – Not Ready to Make Nice” on YouTube

Music can often speak to memories or times in our lives. This song brought me back to reflecting on some rough times. It feels like God is digging up the bones to give them the proper  burial so the past  can  rest in peace. The people I encounter in my life remind me through our interactions of what I need to resolve. “Not Ready to Make Nice” is about a situation where you know that you should forgive but it still hurts too damn much quite yet. My writing is just a map to those moments where I felt that emotion. Eventually one needs to forgive even if it is only to prevent you from slowly poisoning yourself. It doesn’t  mean what ever happened was  okay just that you are no longer willing to carry that  baggage with you even if it’s  something  you need to forgive yourself for.

Leave a Reply

